Easy Spring Cleaning

Today is the first day of spring! Are you all ready for a change of seasons? I know in some places (like here and back home in Iowa) spring may feel so far away with snow on the ground, but trust me people, it is coming…

I can’t wait to open the windows and let the smell of cow patties the fresh air in. It always gets me in the mood to deep clean the house of that stale-ness that accumulates over the course of the winter months. Here are my favorite cleaning tasks that only require 3 simple, household items:

  1. Vinegar
  2. Baking Soda
  3. Dish soap

Without further ado, let’s get this thing started!

1.) Mattress cleaner

Sprinkle your mattress with baking soda, let sit for an hour while you wash and dry your sheets, then vacuum off. It takes care of dust mites and freshens your mattress in the process. Can’t beat it! I’ve read, you only need to do this once a month, but I’m sure every little bit helps, whenever you have time to do it.

2.) Shower/Tub Cleaner

Mix half vinegar and half  dish soap in the handle of a scrub brush. Shake to mix well and scrub away. This. Works. Wonders. I keep our scrubber in the shower and I can quick scrub/wipe down the shower walls whenever I am in there and if I really want to linger in the hotness of the shower, I will scrub the tub basin too.

3.) Microwave Cleaner

In a microwave-safe bowl, mix 1 C. water with 1 C. vinegar. Heat in the microwave for 5 minutes to loosen gunk and take away smells from old food’s past. BE CAREFUL, mixture will be VERY HOT! I dilute the boiling mixture with cold water once I remove it from the microwave, then use it to wet and rinse my rag that I use to wipe out the microwave.

4.) Washing Machine Cleaner

cleaner

Pour 1 C. vinegar in the detergent dispenser and 1 C. straight into the wash basin of the machine. Turn the washing machine on to the “clean washer” setting. After that is done, sprinkle about 1/2 c. baking soda in the basin and run a regular wash cycle with hot water.

Obviously, there are many more cleaning tasks that can be done, but I chose these because they use simple house hold products, without any harmful chemicals. If you are looking for more baking soda uses, check this out and for vinegar uses, click here. Happy spring cleaning!

Leave a Reply

