To sweeten your weekend

Welcome to the 14 Days of Love series here on Rural Life Story! (Well, technically it is only 10 days, because I will only be posting on week days, but you catch my drift.) Each day I will post something to sweeten the days following up until Valentine’s Day.

daysoflove

Yay for Friday! I am so excited to share this unmistakably easy and delicious sugar cookie and butter cream frosting recipe with you today in time for Valentine’s Day. It will be the only one you will ever need, ever again.  Your belly and all your cookie recipients will love you forever, I mean like… F-O-R-E-V-E-R. Yes, that was my lame attempt at a Sandlot reference.

Well let’s hop to it. I came across this recipe from Tammy of Peppermint Plum, on Pinterest. (Please check out all my boards and follow me here.)

Sugar cookie recipe

I am convinced this will be the best sugar cookie you will ever make or taste and you will have everyone fooled that it’s not from a swanky bakery. Here is the quick recipe, but please check out Tammy and Annie’s tutorial here.

Cookies
1 cup butter
2 cups sugar
2 eggs
3 tsp. vanilla
1 cup sour cream
1 tsp. salt
2 tsp. baking soda
5 1/2 cups flour

In mixer, cream butter and sugar, and then add eggs and vanilla. Add sour cream. Combine salt, soda, and flour, and add to mixture.

Roll out on floured surface to about 1/4 to 1/3 inch thick. Bake at 375 for 7-8 minutes. The key is to pull them out then and not let them cook any longer, they will be pale, but this is what makes them moist and pillowy.
Frosting
1/2 cup butter, softened
4 cups powdered sugar
2 tsp vanilla extract
1/4-1/3 cup milk
In a mixing bowl, cream butter. Beat in sugar and vanilla until crumbly. Gradually add milk until frosting reaches desired consistency. Add desired food coloring.
I made about 30 large cutouts from this one recipe about 3 weeks ago and froze them. It did not, in any way, shape or form sacrifice the deliciousness of these cookies. I pulled them out last night and gave them a swipe of  frosting and dash and shimmer of sprinkles. I sampled one and. it. blew. my. mind. I never knew I could bake like that and you will feel the same way!
2013-02-07 18.26.59

I did not have any food coloring at home last night, so I went with plain white frosting and a TON of sprinkles. Make somebody’s day, as well as your own, by whipping up a batch of these cut-outs and let your creativity go hog-wild while decorating them.  Have fun this weekend!

Leave a Reply

