Joy to the World

I decided this year to get a head start on a few Christmas projects for 2013, while everything was on sale and before I packed everything up. That way when it’s time to decorate for the holidays again, I can pull out my new items and they’ll be ready to go.

I was at Hobby Lobby a few days after Christmas, unfortunately after most of the Christmas clearance had been picked over, but I still found some goodies. These metallic finished letters were originally $3.99/ea., on sale for 50% off. I tried to compose a few different words, however the letter selection was limited to pick from. So “JOY” it was.

january-13-2013-009

I wanted to create a rustic sign that could be left up for a longer season than Christmas, more of a winter decoration. We have a lot of leftover scraps of wood, so I found the perfect size to fit my three letters without having to cut anything down.

January 13, 2013 010

I placed the letters down before continuing any further, just to make sure everything looked the way I anticipated.

January 13, 2013 011

To give it a rustic finish, I “seasoned” it with a few whacks from the hammer.

I stained it with a coat of golden pecan and let that dry a little, then went back over it with a dark mahogany color. It gave it a warm tone, that is my favorite. We did this same stain combination on our entryway shelf.

January 13, 2013 013

After the stain had ample time to dry, I put a thin bead of Gorilla Glue on each letter to adhere it to the wood. Gorilla Glue is an awesome product, as long as you leave it to dry for at least 4 hours. I made the mistake of holding the sign up to show Nathan after an hour and the letters slid off. I used a razor blade to remove the glue marks, but if you look close you can still see my mistake.

y

Here are a few snaps of where the sign lives now.

JOY 002

JOY 006I look forward to either hanging it or setting it in a window sill next year. The best part is, it is already done and I can pull it out next year and enjoy it without having to make time to construct/create it.

Leave a Reply

