Nut pickin’, Rockettes and Schlafly’s Tap Room

I was very lucky to be given a pound of cracked pecans this past week, all I had to do was the picking and peeling. This was the view of my Saturday morning, while I watched cooking show on the “create” channel.

I had never “picked” pecans and I didn’t realize the time it would take pick apart 2 pounds of pecans, to end up with 1 pound of pecans. However, I really enjoyed it.

I plan to use them on my morning oatmeal and to make some delicious candied sweet potato casserole for Thanksgiving. If any are left, I’d love to find a good recipe to toast them.

After being Mrs. Susie Farm Wife, Nathan and I headed for St. Louis, as we had tickets to the Radio City Christmas Spectacular featuring the Rockettes. Can you hear Nathan’s excitement through this post!?

Sorry babe…I had to.

We weren’t allowed to take pictures, however I had already snapped a few on the venue before they made the announcement.

We attended the show at the Peabody Opera House, which had just been recently renovated. It was beautiful. The show was awesome and definitely put us in the Christmas spirit, well not before Thanksgiving of course.

It lasted approximately 2 hours and continued to impress throughout the show. I have to be honest, at first I thought this is good, but how are Nathan and I going to make it through 2 hours of this? Then a story line began of a little boy who was on the fence of believing and his older brother was convinced Santa didn’t exist at all. The Rockettes made cameo appearances to encourage the boys that Santa did exist. The room was filled with Christmas spirit and nostalgia and it set such a magical tone for the evening.

We enjoyed a nice meal at Schlafly Tap Room downtown St. Louis afterward. The atmosphere was so pretty and the food was pretty darn good. Scatterbrain me, left my wallet at home…so no beer or cider sampling for this girl and Nathan didn’t partake in any alcohol consumption either. The we’re serving up some samplers of their different beers that looked delicious, so we may have to head back there and try their appetizers too! ; ) If you’re in the area, it definitely is a place to check out.

We had a wonderful evening and were home by 9:30 to head to bed and get our restful 8 hours of sleep…we are so exciting. I went to bed with visions of sugar plums dancing in my head…so darn excited for the holidays!

Leave a Reply

